header trans

Champions Honored in Annual Awards Banquet

Story and Picture by Rocky Ragusa

A night of celebration was featured Saturday night at the Walton Centre in Fairbury. The venue hosted 175 members of the Fairbury Speedway, race teams, and supporters of the track on a night when the track honored the top ten drivers in each of the four regular weekly divisions.

Track owner and promoter, Matt Curl, rewarded each driver with a check and trophy. For the first time, the speedway also presented four new awards. Jay Ledford was named the sportsmanship recipient, Lyndon Whitfill was named Rookie of the Year, Allen Weisser was honored with the Driver of the Year, and Roger Friedman was presented with the Jim Schahrer Lifetime Achievement Award.

Ricky Bane of Rural Route Repair presented Sportsman driver, Tommy Duncan, with an Alkota pressure washer for being the Alkota “Keep it Clean” Series champion. Ryan Unzicker (Late Model), Nick Clubb (Modified), Matt Ramer (Sportsman), and Eric Boudreau (Stock Car) were the hard charger winners in their respective classes.

Curl announced that the track schedule will be out during the Performance Racing Industry show in mid-December. Also, the track will return with the same five weekly divisions and the Alkota Series in 2020.

copyright trans